Whatcha Been Doin?

I noticed that I haven’t been posting much, so I wondered, what have I been up to?

My husband has been gone for most of the last two weeks. That means I’ve been cooking and cleaning and child rearing on my own.

On top of that, my parents are coming to visit! Yay! Besides the extra cleaning required, it means we will be having good conversations, spoiled grandkids, shopping, and all the good things that come with Mom and Dad being near. Oh alright, we’ll probably have a spat or two, but Mom and I’ve mellowed over the years.

If you check out my “On the Needles” section, you’ll see several of the projects I’ve finished or am in the process of finishing.

Hubby’s Dr. Who type scarf- this scarf has lots of color and will end up being about 15′ when finished. It has taken 2 weeks to hand knit. It was supposed to be in Garter Rib, but that little note was in fine print on the page I wasn’t looking at, hence the reason that it is in garter stitch.
Garter stitch is when you only knit back and forth. Garter rib is a pattern of knit 2, purl 1; or some variation on the first row, with the second row being knit only. Little detail, big difference in appearance.

Ruffled scarves- ruffled lacy scarves are all the rage. They are quick knit or crochet scarves that look tricky, but arent. So grab a skein of Starabella or Red Heart Sashay, spread the lace out, spear through a few of the top holes (with the glittery thread at the bottom), and knit. I’ve knit up 6 or 7 of these, sold one, and need to sew up the lace ends on the rest.

Mom’s wrap – I’ve been working on this one off snd on since July. It usually depends on whether or not the kids were playing on my ipod, which had my row counter on it. Arrowhead Poncho this is the pattern I used. I widened it and made one side much longer to accomodate a wrap effect. When I give it to Mom, I’ll take pic, and you’ll see why that was necessary. I’m a short 5’4″, but my mother is 5’10”.
I also made two others of these as gifts for my mother-in-law and a friend. It’s a terrific pattern.

Aside from all that hand knitting, I’ve been working on fixing up some machines. Right now, I’m cleaning a Singer 360. This along with the main carriage and lace carriage, is my Christmas gift from my husband. I’m getting it clean so that I can repair the Studio 700 I bought for $25 +S&H, and my 322 that has a bent bed. Hubby thinks he might be able to get it straight enough to make the right end more useable.

20121104-125426.jpg

20121104-125452.jpg

20121104-125520.jpg

I’ve been knitting socks up on the left side of the 322, but for sweaters, I need more room. As soon as the 360 is cleaned, I’ll swap out the 322 so that it can be repaired.

The 700 is considered one of the best models for its punchcard and knit radar 7. Both of which have issues. I have a parts machine that I picked up to help fix it, but I don’t have enough room! We’ll need the kicthen table when company comes. Hubby and I also had to fix up the 700’s carriage, as the main drum on one side was obliterated due to poor packaging.

I’m also trying to get a craft circle going on Thursday mornings, and teaching techniques to a friend. I’m hoping to start teaching classes as soon as my house gets in order. We’re still working to get the garage cleaned up, and several friends have been kind enough to move and need moving boxes :).

It’s been busy, and will continue to be! I keep having to push back scheduling classes. The Navy has finally started a Respite Care program, and hopefully soon, I’ll have someone to watch the boys while I teach in the evenings, if hubby is gone.

Leave a Reply

