Things That Make You Wonder

Somebody wrote something about me. Not good or bad, just a diagnosis. Although “just” doesn’t describe what those few words made me think.

Normally, when you see something written on a piece of paper with your name on it, you already know it. You know how doctors and people label you. I’m used to hearing labels. With three kids on the Autism Spectrum, I’ve heard lots of labels.

I knew nothing of this one. So now, I have to find out where it came from. I know it’s not from me. Did the doctor call another doctor? Did the doctor not hear me correctly? Where the hell did this label come from? Did he make it up? Lovely.

It’s one thing to know you’re a bit different, but to label me a puzzle piece, well, I’m not too sure what to think about that. At least they don’t think I’m crazy. I guess.

I’ve already talked to my oldest about Aspergers and ADHD. He knows that he’s a bit different. So if I tell my kids that a label is just a label, why does it bother me? Because no one said to my face, “I think you have this… And here’s why…”. Seriously? It’s worse than spreading rumors.

Sooooo a hunting I will go. Too bad Coffee Guy is gone, he’d have some input for me. His ideas and all.

Leave a Reply

