Time Flies

The alarm went off this morning. I checked my watch and saw that it was a quarter to six. I rolled over to nudge my husband- after all, it’s his Darth Vader alarm clock, telling him to get up. He bonked it on the head for one more snooze and a last few minutes cuddling his wife.

He’s off on the start of a business trip, before the rest of the house is awake. My alarm is not a clock. It is the sound of Ghenghis, howling his head off. As I entered the kitchen/dining room, I saw the back door was open, and he was running in and out. The puppies and Victoria, frothing at the gate, jumped up and down like popcorn to be let out. Ghenghis sleeps with my oldest, which means my oldest in a zombie state put him out this morning. Ghenghis turned the latch and opened the door. Oh joy!

We survived last week’s antics with some very tired boys. I thought last week would be a once off. Sometimes, I wish my calendar would tell the future. This week will be twice as crowded, but a bit more organized. Two field trips, all three boys to the dentist, one boy to his pediatrician, five nights of ABA (Applied Behavior Therapy) with only three people, school supply give away to attend, and my birthday, which will not be celebrated this year. Oh yes, and Hubby will be gone, so I’m on my own.

But on top of all this, I found out we’ll be having a flea market at the end of September. A glorified yard sale. I’m working on two baby blankets, a hat and a sweater. Now, I will also be knitting up quick doo-dads and what-nots, to put on display. Of course, I also have two bikes with helmets, a bike buggy for two and a bunch of baby stuff to sell. I’d like to get the garage cleaned out 🙂

Yup, us housewives, we sit on the couch eating Bonbons and watching soaps 🙂 The funny thing about that- I do kind of watch tv, but not really. I think the old radio shows from the 40’s and 50’s would be better. I sit and knit, or iron, or even get on my exercise bike and knit while I play some show off Amazon or Netflix. I listen more than I watch. I rarely do just one thing. What happened to letting your imagination fill in the pictures? I knit while reading a book on an e-reader. I have to multitask. There are not enough hours in the day. It’s a shame that audio books are so expensive, as well.

I’m still wearing the brace on my hand. I’m knitting much less, right now. Two more weeks, and I will quit wearing it. I suppose I should schedule my follow up with the doctor. Maybe I will. I’d like to see the look on his face when he sees that I’ve dropped a bit of weight.

Before he called my kids obstacles, I’d already taken care of how to get my exercise in. Putz. I was waiting on this new thing called a FitDesk. Bike and a desk, low rate cardio, I can hang my knitting bag from the desk, watch my laptop, and knock-out 45 minutes of work. No need for the gym, which won’t watch my special needs kids. I’ve also been taking the boys on outdoor bike rides, to prep for riding to school. Yup, I suppose there’s room in there for Bonbons, but I’ll settle for my morning latte- cut down from two or three to just one. I’ve been tracking my calories and increasing water. So far I’m down five pounds.

Our house was rented as of the first. School starts next week. Hubby’s gone this week, then the last week of August. There’s another trip planned in September. Strangely enough, I’m a bit less stressed. Ready to take control of all the things hubby’s been doing for the the last few months. It’s been a nice break, not doing all of the appointments or fighting with the insurance company, but all of that is mine again. Of course, the sound of Beethoven’s Fifth, I have to do the grocery shopping too. Ugh.

They say time flies when you’re having fun. Time just flies, especially if you are busy. I will be very busy!

Leave a Reply

